SECRA Fellows

SECRA Fellows

Kristie Abston, 2020
Chi Anyansi-Archibong, 2010
Joyce Beggs, 2016
Raphael Boyd, 2011
Betty Brewer, 2011
Tim Burson, 2010
Crystal Carlson-Myer, 2022
Christopher M. Cassidy, 2010
Mick Fekula (Dean of the Fellows), 2010
Darin Gerdes, 2022
Jan Grimes, 2022
Lindsey Hamil, 2013
Marty Hornyak, 2010
Ed Jernigan, 2016
Keith Jones, 2019
Jonathan Krispin, 2022
Blaine Lawlor, 2018
Bob McDonald, 2010
Tom Miller, 2017
Rebecca Oatsvall, 2010
Susan Peters, 2015
Tim Redmer, 2010
C. Michael Ritchie, 2010
Ida Robinson-Backmon, 2010
Mary Kay Sullivan, 2011
Sonia Toson, 2018
Fred Ware, 2010
Kathleen Wates, 2010
Mike Welsh, 2010

The role of the SECRA Fellows is to provide a core group of long-term committed people who will act as an advisory body to the SECRA Officers. The SECRA Fellows will not have any official authority in the decision processes conducted by the SECRA Officers. The SECRA Fellows will meet annually during the SECRA conference to discuss proposals for the SECRA officers or to address concerns and offer advice to the Officers. The SECRA Fellows will be both proactive in their advice and counsel, and reactive in response to the concerns of both SECRA officers and members.

If the budget allows, SECRA will fund a special breakfast, lunch, or dinner meeting for the SECRA Fellows during the SECRA conference where they can conduct their annual meeting. In addition to title, this meal is the only special perk for the SECRA Fellows.

SECRA members are inducted into the Fellows according to the following criteria:

  1. Long-standing members who have made a sustained contribution to the organization over the years in terms of leadership and/or research contributions.a. Researchers: This category addresses both the quantity and quality of contributions to case research.b. Service: Past Presidents, Program Chairs, Proceedings Editors, Site Coordinators and other significant officer service.
  2. Special Recognition: These are members who have made particularly influential contributions to SECRA. It is difficult to characterize the particular possibilities, but this could be significant contributions to build the organization, such as marketing efforts, generating student participation, building the website, branding SECRA, conducting workshops, reviewing for the Journal and the conference, fundraising, etc.

The first group of SECRA Fellows was established in 2010. Mick Fekula was elected Dean of the Fellows at the first meeting on February 13, 2010.

In 2009, SECRA Members voted to establish the SECRA Fellows. The following ad hoc system was adopted to apply only to the first class of Fellows and subject to change based upon agreement among the Fellows thereafter. In order to be in the first group of Fellows, one must:

  1. Have fulfilled the role of a SECRA officer or associate officer position in a responsible manner or have supported SECRA by attending numerous SECRA Conferences and providing wise advice and counsel.
  2. Have attended a minimum of five SECRA conferences.
  3. Accept the position of SECRA fellow with the intent to attend every SECRA conference, but with the minimum attendance being two out of every three years.
  4. Be in attendance at the 2010 conference and convene to elect a Dean of The SECRA Fellows who will oversee the establishment of policies and processes for the Fellows by coordinating with the first class of Fellows. The Fellows Dean will report Fellows’ policies and processes to the Officers and membership at the 2011 meeting.
%d bloggers like this: